Embassy of the Republic Slovenia in Sofia /Short stay Schengen visa /Do I need a short-stay visa to travel to Schengen countries? /

General information:

EEA citizens and Swiss nationals

Nationals of another EEA Member State (EEA citizens are nationals of the EU Member States, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein) or Switzerland may enter the Republic of Slovenia with a valid personal identity card or travel document, and do not need an entry permit (visa) or a residence permit, regardless of the purpose of their entry into and residence in the Republic of Slovenia (including entry for employment, study, self-employment, or residence purposes).

Third-country nationals

A national of a third country who wishes to enter and reside in the Republic of Slovenia for tourist, business, personal, or other purposes should obtain a visa prior to their entry into the country, unless they are citizens of countries that do not require a visa (see: list of countries whose citizens must have a visa when entering the Schengen Area and of countries whose citizens are exempt from this requirement:

https://ec.europa.eu/home-affairs/sites/homeaffairs/files/what-we-do/policies/borders-and-visas/visa-policy/apply_for_a_visa/docs/visa_lists_en.pdf) or already hold one of the permits described below: